Welcome to National theater & Concert Hall. For more information, please call 02-33939888

2020TIFA Luminous Shadow

Apr 10, 2020 - Apr 11, 2020
Venue:NTCH Recital Hall (No.21-1, Zhongshan S. Rd.)


2020 Taiwan International Festival of Arts (TIFA) is postponed in response to COVID-19. Luminous Shadow (April 10-11, 2020) concerts are subsequently postponed. Dates tba.

Customers who have purchased tickets to Luminous Shadow can apply for a full refund between March 16 to April 30, 2020. Refund will be processed automatically for tickets settled by credit card. Ticket holder with ticket previously settled by cash, please visit ArtsTicket System or call +886-2-3393-9888.

Customers with tickets issued from ArtsTicket System:

Payment settled by Cash

Refund can be processed at Taipei, Taichung, Tainan, Kaohsiung service centers before April 30, 2020. If unable to apply for refund in person, please mail the ticket(s) and a copy of your passbook (Chunghwa Post, preferred) to Ms. Chang, before April 30, 2020, at National Theatre, E-Commerce Section 100011 21-1 Chung-Shan S. Road, Taipei, Taiwan

Payment settled by Credit Card

Refund will be processed automatically.

〓 Luminous Shadow: WANG Pei-yao ✕ WU Ming-yi 〓(CANCELLED)

Speakers:WANG Pei-yao and WU Ming-yi
Time:March 28, 2020 (SAT) 14:30-15:30
Venue:National Concert Hall Lobby

Memory can be luminous so as to cast shadow in time. Certain memories in life are so profound that they need to be slowly brewed and carefully tasted, similar to the process how literature is penned, music is composed, or photography is developed.

Inspired by the bestselling novel The Stolen Bicycle written by WU Ming-yi, pianist WANG Pei-yao seeks to explore a new dimension of literature and music through the complexity of life itself. Musicians WANG Pei-yao, William Wei, laureate of the Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition, and Victor Coo, the Filipino-Chinese cellist, perform pieces by the Eastern European composers Janáček, Ligeti, Enescu, and Kodály. Some of the pieces were based on rural folksongs collected by the composers, which then inspired them to produce compositions of their own. This process is akin to the way readers experience different dialects phonically throughout the novel. The music reflects the elaborate setup of the novel to evoke the audience's deep hidden emotions. Jeffrey Lim, the Malaysian photographer, joins force with the musical troupe in performance. He will transfigure the music into images for recollection, thereby allowing the stories to live on in the memory.

Leoš Janáček: “ In the Mists ”
I. Andante

Sergei Prokofiev: Violin sonata No.1 in F minor, Op. 80
I. Andante assai

Zoltán Kodály: Sonata for Solo Cello
II. Adagio con gran espressione

György Ligeti: Piano Etudes,
Book 1 No.6 Automne à Varsovie

George Enescu: Violin Sonata No.3
II. Andante sostenuto e misterioso

Karol Szymanowski/ Kochanski:
King Roger Op.46, Chant de Roxanne

Arno Babadjanian: Piano Trio in F-Sharp minor
I. Largo- allegro espressivo
II. Andante

Federico Mompou: Musica Callada- Angelico

◆ Duration: approx. 70 minutes, without intermission.
◆ A Taiwan Week selection by NTCH, Taipei

PIANIST│Wang Pei-yao
Hailed for her poetic lyricism and insight, Wang Pei-yao is widely in demand as a soloist and chamber musician. She has collaborated with musicians such as Hilary Hahn, Cho-Liang Lin, B